The Nutcracker and the Four Realms

The Nutcracker and the Four Realms is a American fantasy adventure film directed by Lasse Hallström and Joe Johnston and written by Ashleigh Powell. It is a retelling of E. T. A. Hoffmann’s short story “The Nutcracker and the Mouse King” and Marius Petipa’s The Nutcracker,about a young girl who finds a Nutcracker doll among the family’s gifts and is charged by her parents to take special care of it. The film stars Keira Knightley, Mackenzie Foy, Eugenio Derbez, Matthew Macfadyen, Richard E. Grant, Misty Copeland, Helen Mirren, and Morgan Freeman.

The film was announced in March 2016 with Hallström directing a script by Powell. Much of the cast signed on that summer, and filming began in October at Pinewood Studios, lasting through January 2017. In December 2017, it was announced Joe Johnston would direct a month of reshoots written by Tom McCarthy, with Johnson agreeing to receive co-directing credit.


  • Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Stahlbaum
  • Richard E. Grant as Shiver, the ruler of the Snow Realm.
  • Misty Copeland as The Ballerina Princess
  • Helen Mirren as Mother Ginger, the ruler of the Fourth Realm.
  • Morgan Freeman as Drosselmeyer, Clara’s godfather.
  • Jayden Fowora-Knight as Captain Philip Hoffman, the Nutcracker and self-proclaimed protector of the Three Realms.
  • Miranda Hart as Dew Drop Fairy
  • Jack Whitehall as Harlequin
  • Ellie Bamber as Louise
  • Lil Buck as The Mouse King, the ruler of the mice.
  • Sergei Polunin as Sweets Cavalier
  • Tom Sweet as Fritz

Related posts

Badhaai Ho


The Glinch


Thugs of Hindostan


1 comment

Leave a Comment